Chocolate Orange Oreo Rocky Road

This is a recipe  adapted from a Nigella Lawson’s Rocky Road Crunch Bars which I turned into my utterly decadent Chocolate Orange Oreo Rocky Road. I needed to make the recipe dairy free and I’d ran out/didn’t like some of the ingredients, so I ended up experimenting and exchanging a couple of items.

For this recipe I use Oreo brand cookies to replace digestives (which contain milk products) or rich tea biscuits (which I’m not keen on) as the plain brand Oreos do not contain milk and are actually Vegan too – no eggs, milk, or animal products; possibly just traces (for those with a severe milk allergy). I love the extra chocolatey flavour they give and the vanilla from the filling. I added the orange zest for a citrus kick to cut through the chocolate (and because I REALLY miss Terry’s Chocolate Orange) and voila! Something super yummy and decadent.

This recipe is suitable for those who are: Egg Free & Milk Free. If you were to exchange the marshmallows for a vegan alternative such as dried fruit or vegan friendly (no meat gelatine) marshmallows this would be a vegetarian/vegan friendly recipe. You could also make this Gluten Free by using rice crispies or gluten free oat biscuits or gluten free cereals.

Ingredients:

  • 125 grams dairy free margarine (I used Pure sunflower margarine which is available from most UK supermarkets)
  • 300 grams milk free dark chocolate (I used Sainsburys dark baking chocolate as it has no dairy ingredients listed – only *possible* traces of milk. If you have an severe allergy and can’t get near that, there is a completely egg, nut, milk trace free chocolate available from Sainsburys and other supermarkets called Kinnerton which is delicious)
  • tablespoons golden syrup (I used Lyle’s squeezy bottle Golden Syrup)
  • 200 grams Oreo cookies
  • 100 grams mini marshmallows
  • Zest of 1 large orange

Method:

  1. Melt the butter, chocolate and golden syrup in a saucepan or in the microwave. When I use the microwave, I melt my chocolate separately to my margarine and syrup and then mix them together – I learnt this after an accidental exploding chocolate/butter microwave incident! Scoop out about 125ml / ½ cup of this melted mixture and put to one side.
  2. Crush the biscuits. You can do this by bashing the biscuits in a freezer bag with rolling pin, or just do what I do, (because I’m lazy!) and crush the oreos up in your hands after weighing them. You want a mix of chunks and crumby bits for texture.
  3. Mix the chocolate, butter and syrup mix, Oreos and marshmallows together. Zest in the orange and stir.
  4. Tip into a tray lined with greaseproof paper and  pour the reserved 125ml / ½ cup of melted chocolate mixture over the marshmallow mixture and smooth the top. It doesn’t need to look too neat.
  5. Refrigerate for about 2 hours or overnight.
  6. Cut into fingers or chunks and enjoy stuffing your face! Leave the rest in the fridge until you eat it so it doesn’t melt! 🙂

 

 

Recipe “Chocolate Orange Oreo Rocky Road” Copyright Lucy Zirins 2014

 

 

 

Leave a comment